The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) uses a 12-letter alphabetical scale of D to Z and is used extensively in the diamond trade worldwide. Using this scale, the diamond on scale D have the least amount of color. D is a colorless stone. The diamond at the higher end of the scale Z has deeper tones.  The shade of a jewelry is one remarkable of significant worth. The rarest and most significant diamonds are "white" or colorless.


It is recommended to observe color by examining the stone through the pavilion, with the table down.

 GIA’s D to Z diamond color grading system


Diamond Color D-F Grade diamonds have no color, they typically need to be compared to higher or lower graded diamonds to accurately identify the color. D has the highest color grade which are extremely rare and most expensive. The difference between D, E, and F is so slight that only experts can see it when the diamonds are unmounted.

D-F are colorless, exceptionally white, or rare white and the most desirable

Diamond Color G-J Grade Diamonds has very minute traces of color, which can be identified by trained gemologists. When mounted in a setting these diamonds appear colorless to the untrained eye.

G-J are Fine white or Rare white.

Diamond Color K-M  Grade Diamonds has faint yellowish tint, it look colorless when mounted. Diamonds of 0.5 carat or more shows traces of color.

Diamond Color N-R Grade Diamonds has very light yellowish tint and appears very “off-white.”

Diamond Color S-Z Grade Diamonds has tinted light yellowish color and appears very “off-white.”


  • What is the best color for a diamond?

The best color of a diamond depends on the wearer and the type of jewellery you're looking to buy. Typically, if you're looking for engagement rings or wedding jewellery, white diamonds are the most ideal choice to go with. They're sparkly, brilliant, and remarkable, and they pair well with any style of wedding gown. You can also wear white diamond jewellery with other outfits, regardless of the color or design.

  • Which diamond color is the most expensive?

White is the most common of all diamond colors as it's used to adorn rings, bracelets, necklaces, earrings, and other types of jewellery. However, besides white, diamonds can also come in other colors such as pink, purple, blue, red, yellow, grey, brown. Among all the colors, red diamonds are the rarest in the world, so they fetch quite a high market price. So far, the most expensive diamond in the world, the Argyle Phoenix costs more than $2 million.

  • What's more important - color or clarity?

When shopping for diamonds for the first time, it's essential to know a few basic facts about these precious stones. For starters, you'll need to know which is more important to you - the color or the clarity of the diamonds? Clarity refers to the absence of any imperfections on the stone. Color, on one hand, refers to the absence of blemishes. Both factors are crucial in assessing the grade of a diamond and ultimately boils down to your personal preference.

  • What is the rarest diamond color?

Red diamonds are the rarest diamond in the world, These extraordinary diamonds are not only extremely rare, but they are breathtakingly beautiful. Due to their scarcity, they also happen to be the most expensive and most valuable diamond in the world. Red diamonds can sell for around $1 million for one carat.